GENERATION: EXAGGERATION

It is a generation that is either placed on a chopping block or a gold-trimmed pedestal. Millennials are geniuses one minute, and spoiled, lazy kids about to take over the world and ruin it the next. In a time where smart phones function as an 11th finger, millennials, the members of Generation Y, have as much access to the internet as Paris Hilton did to a nightclub in 2003. Their (our) thoughts are spewed across newsfeeds, timelines, group texts, emails, wall posts, and captions. Having the Internet in such close proximity aids in the development of the most outlandish, dramatic commentary ever. (ex: that sentence). This, combined with the extreme yo-yo effect of our praise and punishment, makes it easy to see how the generation has imprinted an exaggeratory mark on the web and common vernacular in general.  Never has the word “literally” be rendered so imperative before.

This all was brought to my attention by my friend who was listening to her 14-year-old cousin speak about her everyday, newly teenaged life. It is the age where everything is a big deal and there are no gray areas. I started to examine my own speech patterns in texts, tweets, and every day conversation. I know by nature I can be a fairly animated person, but when you actually sit and think about the phrases you commonly use, it becomes quite hysterical. From there I decided it was only fair to define such phrases that circle the internet faster than Magellan, and help out someone from Generation X decode the musings of Generation: Exaggeration.

WORD/PHRASE: “LITERALLY DYINGGGGGG

  1. A response to something humorous, embarrassing, cute, sentimental, childish, scary, or boring.
  2. How one feels after a night of heavy drinking, or even a night of 2 glasses of red wine while doing laundry on a Tuesday.
  3. How one feels when they have not had frozen yogurt (see: froyo) in over a week

Used in a sentence: “Chris just texted me a picture of his best friend doing the worm next to four adorable French Bulldogs wearing fake mustaches and I was LITERALLY dyinggggg, I could not breath.”

REAL LIFE EXAMPLES FROM THE FUTURE WORLD LEADERS:
literally dying

WORD/PHRASE: “legit balling”

  1. To cry as if you have 12 eyes producing tears.
  2. A common reaction to a Macy’s holiday commercial or Teen Mom 2 promo.

Used in a sentence: “Did you see that YouTube video of the girl with three dads trying to raise money for organic paleo lunches for her middle-school? I was legit balling, we have to donate to her PayPal account.”

THE PROOF IS IN THE PUDDING, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN:
legit ballin 1
legit balling 2

WORD/PHRASE: “I can’tttttt even”

  1. Something so extreme in characteristics that it cannot be handled or comprehended in a normal matter.
  2. The inability to process correct thoughts or actions based on certain overwhelming events, conversations, or wall posts.

USED IN A SENTENCE: “Apparently Justin Bieber is naming his world tour coming up ‘The Selena Chapter’ to try to get her back. I can’ttttt evennnnn.”

LIVE-TIME TWEETS FROM THE NATION’S FINEST YOUNG MINDS:cant even 2cant even 1

For the record, I blurred out all of the random twitter page names to avoid being sued for cyber-bullying or something, even though children that young should have private profiles. MOMS AND DADS!!

Ok, writing this made me legit exhausted . Thank God I get to head to bed doe.
goodnight. school in the am <<<<<< #likeforlike #retweetforretweet #twentyquestions

hehe, just kidding. 🙂

{cover image via pando.com}

2 thoughts on “GENERATION: EXAGGERATION

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the issue is one thing that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very completely happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something referring to this.

Leave a Reply

