An Apology, A “Recipe”, and a Snowstorm.

Ok, ok. I’m going to be completely honest here. I got 100% sidetracked when I created this blog. My original intentions were as follows: to provide a platform where readers can come and gather hints for their next meal, purchase, or YouTube video to watch. What did I do instead? Provide snarky, often offensive, commentary on the half-important thoughts that filter through my mind on a daily, hourly, minute-ly basis. So here is my half-hearted apology, and a treat to get you to forgive me. Think of me as your workaholic father who missed all of your birthday parties, but got you a really nice car when you turned 16. Let me quickly apologize if that correlation hit too close to home for anyone.

Ok, so back to the “treat”- if you’re reading this from the east coast of the United States of America, you are, as they say, “dealing with the elements”. It is snowing. Shocking, in winter it snows.

IMG_0441

I want to share with all of you the first thing I did when I got home from work tonight. It is a delicious roasted sweet potato that functions as the perfect snowy evening treat. It is perfect for two reasons: the first being it is extremely simple, the second being it won’t turn your waistline into the midsection of Frosty the Snowman.  Snowstorms tend to get over-indulgent, let’s try to avoid that so we don’t have to gleefully celebrate a 4-day stint in bed with strep throat because it helped you lose a quick 5lbs after the holiday/snow season. (NOTE: that was a theoretical situation and in no way an accurate reflection of my most recent few weeks…)

Here is the super-easy method. (I’m not saying recipe because it is far too simple).

What you need:
A sweet potato (or 35 of them – knock yourself out)
Cinnamon
Pecans (optional)
Olive oil (can be substituted for any kind of oil as far as I’m concerned)
Brown sugar (optional)
Pepper to taste. You can also add salt, but I’m trying to not do that anymore.

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
While that bad boy is heating up, cut the sweet potato into discs or uniform pieces.
Toss the sweet potato pieces with the pecans in olive oil.
Sprinkle the nuts and sweeties with a few dashes of cinnamon, pepper, and a small pinch of brown sugar.
Pop it in the oven and bake until the potatoes become soft with crispy edges. That will take about 20-30 minutes.

 **As a side note, when I made this tonight I set my fire alarm off, because she is one sensitive bitch. I ended up changing the dish from a cookie sheet to a deeper glass pan.**

When they are done they should look something like this:

IMG_0421

IMG_0425

IMG_0434

Hope you give this a whirl, and stay warm, my friends!!

[all photos courtesy of me and my new camera – thanks, santa!]

Leave a Reply

