MEAN GIRLS 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY, WHORE.

mean girls

Get in loser, we’re going shopping.

This week marks the ten-year anniversary of Mean Girls. For ten years I have been telling people “you can’t sit with us!” and to “suck on that”. Thanks to the film, I know the carbohydrate content of butter and that happy hour is from 4pm-6pm. When Christmas time rolls around, I know exactly which dance to do to get Santa to give me whatever I want. Let’s also not forget that the limit does not exist!!! I should have just skipped calculus I – calculus IV in college, because Cady taught me all I need to know. Without jumping too much into the conversation, it also taught me that women are prettttyyy effing funny, and what Old School did for 2003, Mean Girls did for 2004.

In 2004, I was a sophomore in high school and placed Lindsay Lohan on my Olsen-Twins-adorned pedestal. (To this day, I’m not sure if I quote Mean Girls more or The Parent Trap.) It was back when calling your friends “sluts” was a term of endearment, and cyber-bullies did not exist. To have “love ya whore” next to your initials in your best friend’s AIM profile was a huge honor, and the insulting words did not hold as much true mean girl-ness as they do today. Damian made millions of young teenage girls yearn for a gay best friend, and all of the snobby girls at school were officially known as “the plastics”. My ADD finds it troubling to sit through anything more than a half-hour television show, but I could watch Mean Girls three times in a row. Maybe it’s because I enjoy quoting it, or because a little piece of me wants to remember my LiLo in her best light. On Wednesday, April 30th, I will be wearing pink in the form of army pants and flip flops, with a fresh pair of white gold hoops. Thank you, Tina Fey, for writing the screenplay to my life. When in doubt, quote Mean Girls.

Here are a few of my favorites:

“You can’t just ask people why they’re white.”

“Boo, you whore.”

“I want my pink shirt back! I want my pink shirt back!”

“Don’t have sex, because you will get pregnant and die!”

“That’s why her hair is so big, it’s full of secrets.”

“I’m not a regular mom, I’m a cool mom!”

“Stop trying to make fetch happen! It’s not going to happen!”

“I’m sorry I called you a gap-toothed bitch. It’s not your fault you’re so gap-toothed.”

“Can I get you guys anything? Some snacks? A condom?”

“It’s like I have ESPN or something.”

 

What are your favorite Mean Girls quotes, scenes, memories, or characters? If you don’t want to answer, you can go shave your back…

 

[image via wikipedia.com and cnn.com]

 

3 thoughts on “MEAN GIRLS 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY, WHORE.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Geeky Nerds Links | The Harlequin Tea Set

Leave a Reply

